At the core of Ring, and guiding every action we take, is respect for the privacy and security of our neighbours (which is what we call our customers). This includes giving our neighbours effective, easy-to-use, affordable products and services to help protect their homes. It also means taking extremely seriously the privacy, security, and control of their devices and personal information. Below you will find Ring’s guiding pillars.
From the initial idea to the final product, privacy and security are at the core of every decision we make at Ring.
Ring gives customers the control over who’s able to see and access their videos, devices, and personal information.
We’re committed to being transparent about our privacy and security practices.
You’re in control of who you grant video access to.
We take steps to monitor and block potentially unauthorised login attempts into your Ring account.
See all devices (phones, tablets, computers) that are logged into your Ring account. Click “Remove all” to force devices to log out.
View and manage the services you authorised to link to your Ring account via Ring authentication, like Alexa, and IFTTT. You can remove any individual service, at any time.
Add a PIN to your mobile phone account.
Create unique passwords.
Stay up to date.
Watch out for phishing scams.
Use a password manager.
If you do not have a Ring Protect plan, Ring does not record or store your videos, but you can still view your device's live video stream using Live View.
If you do have a Ring Protect plan (including a free trial), Ring records and stores videos when motion is detected by your device (including motion detected via Linked Devices), the video doorbell button is pressed, or you initiate Live View. Stored recordings are automatically deleted following the expiration of your Ring Protect Plan’s applicable storage period. For additional information regarding Ring’s video storage periods, see here.
Currently, videos shared via a share link are not deleted following the expiration of your Ring Protect plan’s applicable storage period, like videos stored in your Ring account. We’re working on bringing this functionality to the Control Centre soon, but if you wish to delete these videos in the meantime, please reach out to our support team at ring.com/callus.
If you have a Ring Protect plan (including a free trial), you can access your stored recordings, download them, manually delete them one by one, or delete them all at once in the Ring app or on Ring.com. Stored recordings are automatically deleted following the expiration of your Ring Protect plan’s applicable storage period. For additional information regarding Ring’s video storage periods, see here.
We have taken measures to help secure Ring devices from unauthorised access. These measures include restricting installation of third-party applications on the device, rigorous security reviews, software security development requirements, and encryption of communication between Ring devices with services, such as AWS cloud storage services. Ring secures video recordings in transit and stores them on secure AWS servers. We use a combination of AES encryption (Advanced Encryption Standard) and TLS (Transport Layer Security) to secure data between Ring devices and AWS, and we encrypt data between Ring devices using AES encryption, TLS and SRTP (Secure Real Time Protocol).
You are always in control of who you grant video access to. By using the Shared Users function, you can add users to your account, who will then be able to view and download video recordings on the account. You can also share video recordings via text or email by creating a share link to the recording. After a share link has been created, the video recording may be viewed and downloaded by anyone with the share link ID. Additionally, you can make your videos publicly available by posting them on the Internet (including by posting them to the public social media app, Neighbors* by Ring).
The Shared Users function allows you to share device access with family, housemates, and others, without sharing your login credentials. Shared Users can answer and receive alerts, view video recordings, and modify their personal alert settings, but they cannot delete videos, delete devices, or change device settings. For help adding someone as a Shared User, please click here.
If you are having issues with your device or video recordings, you can request assistance from Ring community support agents. Depending on the issue, they may request permission from you to view your video recordings in connection with troubleshooting the issues. You choose whether to provide Ring with limited, short-term access to view your video recordings, solely to troubleshoot the issues. These video recordings are not viewed, shared, or used by Ring for any other purpose.
A small number of video recordings are viewed by our research and development team to improve Ring’s products, services and technology. These video recordings are either from customers who have made them publicly available (by posting them on the Neighbors* App or otherwise on the Internet), or from customers, team members and their friends and family who have given us explicit permission to use them for this purpose (which they may revoke at any time).
In response to legal requests from law enforcement agencies, we will not, without the customer’s consent, disclose video recordings unless necessary to comply with the law or there is an emergency involving imminent danger of death or serious physical injury to a person. We object to overbroad or otherwise inappropriate demands as a matter of course. Unless prohibited from doing so, or Ring is given clear indication of illegal conduct in connection with the use of Ring products or services, Ring notifies customers before disclosing content information. For additional information, see our law enforcement guidelines.
No. Ring team members, similar to other members of the general public, can only view the video recordings that you have elected to make publicly available by posting them on the Neighbors* App (or otherwise on the Internet).
No. Ring team members cannot activate and view live streams from your Ring device.
Take a more detailed look at our privacy notice by clicking here
If you’d like to opt-out of marketing and other non-transactional communications from Ring, email email@example.com or click the Unsubscribe link at the bottom of an email you've received from Ring. You will not be able to opt out of important or transactional communications from us, for example, billing confirmations and reminders, device updates, security-related communications, and service announcements. See our Privacy Notice for more information.
*The Neighbors App is currently available in the US only.